Skip to Content

Numerous SAAHP Faculty honored with 2012 Rhody Awards and Recognitions

November 3rd, 2012 by Anonymous

The 2012 4th Annual Rhody Awards held at Rosecliff in Newport on October 18, 2012 were a showcase for numerous SAAHP alumni, faculty and adjunct faculty. The awards sponsored by Preserve Rhode Island and the Rhode Island Historical Preservation and Heritage Commission, honor individuals, organizations and projects for their contributions to the preservation of Rhode Island’s historic resources. Ann Beha Architects, Boston, 2008 Architecture Teaching Firm in Residence, were honored for their contribution to the Blithewold Master Plan, Bristol. Urban Design Group, Bristol, led by Architecture Adjunct Faculty Mauricio Barreto, was honored for their work at Rockville Mill. Ned Conners, Historic Preservation Adjunct Faculty, was recognized for his successful National Historic Landmark nomination of the United Congregational Church in Newport, Rhode Island—the site of the only comprehensive interior designed by artist John LaFarge. Trudy Coxe, Executive Director and CEO of the Preservation Society of Newport County and Historic Preservation Adjunct Faculty Member, offered opening remarks.  Philip Marshall, Professor of Historic Preservation, serves on the Preservation Rhode Island Board of Directors.