Skip to Content
  • Members

Membership

The Roger Williams University Human Subjects Review Board (HSRB) shall have five members from the RWU faculty/administrative staff and one member from outside of the University who has competence in the field of human subject research. 

In addition, according to federal regulations, there must be one non-University member on the HSRB. In the case of reviews involving prisoners, an alternate member, the prisoner or his designee, must sit on the board when the review takes place. 

The five RWU members chosen should have demonstrated evidence of a background in research involving human subjects.

Responsibilities of the Chair

  • reviewing expedited and exempt proposals calling on one board member if there is a procedural issue with a proposal;
  • leading the process of developing and refining Board guidelines and processes;
  • communicating to the faculty changes in guidelines as well as meeting times and Board rulings;
  • scheduling and chairing meetings;
  • maintaining the information on the website;
  • notifying the CAO when new committee members need to be chosen; and,
  • maintaining HSRB records and archives.

The taking of minutes, including all rulings of the Board, shall occur at every meeting. The responsibility for this shall rotate among the Board members. Minutes and rulings shall be published on the website no later than 10 working days after the Board meeting, as consistent with RWU policy.

Chairperson

Jason Patch
Associate Professor, Sociology
401-254-5723
jpatch@rwu.edu
CAS134

Committee Members

Jaqui Cottle
Associate Professor, Psychology
401-254-3773
jcottle@rwu.edu
CAS 119

Sargon Donabed
Assistant Professor, History
401-254-5380
sdonabed@rwu.edu
GHH 216

Julie K. Coon
Associate Professor, School of Justice Studies
401-254-3854
jcoon@rwu.edu
CAS 138

Judith Platania
Associate Professor, Psychology
401-254-5738
jplatania@rwu.edu
CAS 104

Paola Prado
Assistant Professor, Journalism
401-254-3546
pprado@rwu.edu
GHH 326

Michael Udris
Udris Film
Visiting Assistant Professor, film production and documentary studies
Brown University’s Department for Modern Culture and Media
401-383-1355
udris@udris.com

Kerri Ullucci
Associate Professor of Urban Education, School of Education
401-254-3888
kullucci@rwu.edu
Library 209

RWU Chief Academic Officer (CAO)

Andrew A. Workman
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
401-254-3030
aworkman@rwu.edu